About Me

I was five years old when I first knew I wanted to be a teacher. However, it wasn’t until I was 16 years old that I realized that special education was my calling. While I am qualified to teach both Elementary Education and Special Education, I am most happy working with individuals with disabilities.

After 10+ years in the classroom, I’m still in awe of every one of my students. Their strengths, abilities, and personalities make each of them a true joy to be around!

I'm currently teaching transition age young adults (18-22 years old) with moderate to severe disabilities and I compare my job to working at Disney World. Community, life skills, and vocational skills are the focus and I love that each day is different and new.

My educational background includes- Bachelor's Degree from Bradley University (Peoria, IL) in Elementary Education and Special Education. Master's Degree from the University of Illinois at Chicago (Chicago, IL) in Advanced Special Education (LBS II- Multiple Disabilities and Assistive Technology). 30+ Graduate Hours in Assistive Technology.

Outside the classroom, dancing and running are my hobbies, I call Chicago home, and I think macaroni and cheese is a full and complete meal.

-Heather

Creating Teaching and Student Schedules: What to Consider

Jul 01, 2022

Subscribe to my newsletter!

You will get access to exclusive material (Free Resources password) and notifications of upcoming sales and new resources!